Rails to Back Trails

Rails to Back Trails at the Plumb Library

The Plumb Memorial Library will be offering a special program recalling the history of the railroad in this region called “Rails to Back Trails.” It will be presented by Sue A. DelBianco, local lecturer, historian and author of the novellas “The Last Phantom Train” and “Crossing Over”.

The program will be held on Monday, March 19th at 7:00 p.m. in the Main Reading Room of the Plumb Memorial Library at 65 Wooster Street in Shelton.

Sue will host a slide presentation showing captivating images of the then-and-now of railroad history from Bridgeport, Connecticut starting in 1836 when railroad was king. It will include all the events and industry that surrounded the railroad.

It will begin with the Housatonic R.R. that started in Bridgeport in 1836 and continue north into the Trumbull Valley, Monroe, Newtown, Brookfield, Danbury, West Cornwall, Kent, Cannan, CT, and into Pittsfield, Mass. By the early 1970’s, the route from Bridgeport to Newtown became one of Connecticut’s best recreational trails used for biking, hiking, and running.

Twice a year, Sue brings a group of cyclists back in time and educates them on how the railroad made industry come alive and linked the communities. Sue also produced a short documentary video called “Rails to Trails: A Journey Back in Time” on the history of the railroad in the Trumbull Valley. She will bring copies of her documentary for purchase to the presentation.

The program is free and open to the public. Registration is required and can be done by calling the Adult Dept at Plumb Memorial Public Library at (203) 924-1580 or by registering here.